The Essar Group

Recognizing Excellence





Recognizing Excellence | May 19, 2012

The fourth edition of the Essar Steel Infrastructure Excellence Awards felicitated infrastructure companies for excellence and strategic initiatives in the field of construction. It was jointly initiated by Essar Steel and E18 in association with CNBC TV18, was hosted in New Delhi,

Instituted with the objective of recognizing the ‘nation builders’ and felicitating infrastructure companies for excellence and strategic initiatives in the field of construction, these awards are the biggest infrastructure awards in the country.



The Union Minister for Urban Development, Government of India, Kamal Nath was the Chief Guest for the awards ceremony and even felicitated the winners. The awards were conferred on the basis of overall excellence in execution of projects in highways and flyovers, railways, airports, ports, energy and power, oil and gas, telecom, urban infrastructure and water, and sanitation.

The jury

Name Designation
Dr Arvind Mayaram Additional Secretary and Financial Advisor, Ministry of Rural Development
Dr Kirit Parikh Chairman , Integrated Research and Action for Development (IRADe)
Mr S S Kohli Former Chairman and Managing Director, India Infrastructure Finance Company (IIFCL)
Ms Swati Ramanathan Co-Founder, Janaagraha Centre for Citizenship and Democracy




Business Receiver Project
Highways & Flyovers Afcons Infrastructure 3-Level Grade Separator at Ghazipur on NH-24, Delhi
Railways Rail Vikas Nigam Railway Bridge over River Mahanadi, Orissa
Airports Bangalore International Airport Airport Terminal 1, Bengaluru
Ports APM Terminals Pipavav Development & Operation of Pipavav Port, Gujarat
Energy & Power CLP Power India Private Jhajjar Thermal Power Plant (2 x 660 MW), Haryana
Energy & Power Tata Power Company Ultra Mega Power Project (5 x 800 MW), Mundra, Gujarat
Oil & Gas Cairn India Mangala Development Pipeline Project, Rajasthan & Gujarat
Oil & Gas Larsen & Toubro – Hydrocarbon Barmer to Salaya Pipeline, Rajasthan & Gujarat
    Rajasthan Northern Area Development Project at Mangala Oil Field, Barmer, Rajasthan
Telecom Bharti Infratel Rural Telecom Project, Jammu & Kashmir and Madhya Pradesh & Chhattisgarh
Urban Infrastructure Indraprastha Gas City Gas Distribution Project, Delhi & NCR
Water & Sanitation SPML Infra Latur Water Supply System, Maharashtra


Award Receiver
Infrastructure Leader of the Year A M Naik, Chairman and Managing Director, Larsen & Toubro
Infrastructure Company of the Year Ramky Infrastructure
Emergingÿ Company of the Year Cairn India
Pre-Engineered Building (PEB) Project of the Year Tata Bluescope Steel
Infrastructure Project Design of the Year Jaypee Sports International
Essar Steel Award for contribution in the field of Infrastructure Development JCB India

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on August 25, 2012 by in Home, News and tagged .
%d bloggers like this: